Barton Peveril’s Footballing Champions

Cup Winners

Barton Peveril’s 2nd and 3rd Football Teams.

Barton Peveril’s 2nd and 3rd Football Teams have won the Peter Munro Cup and Steve Perkins Cup, respectively. Both finals took place at Sparsholt College, on Wednesday 4th April.

The 2nd Team played a closely fought match against Farnborough College of Technology, winning 4-3 on penalties, and are the first ever 2nd College Team in Hampshire’s history to win the Peter Munro Cup.

Barton Peveril 3rd Football Team
Barton Peveril’s 3rd Football Team

The 3rd Team faced Portsmouth College in the Steve Perkins Cup Final. The match was also decided by penalties, with Barton Peveril winning 7-6. The 3rd Team are the first ever college team to win this 2nd team competition.

“An unreal experience”

Players from Barton Peveril's 2nd Football Team
Players from Barton Peveril’s 2nd Football Team.

Speaking on their victory, 2nd Team player and former The Romsey School pupil George Smith said:

“We went into the final as underdogs and came out as champions! It was an unreal experience for the boys and myself. I can’t begin to explain how happy and proud I am of how hard all the boys worked.”

Barton Peveril Teacher of Physical Education, Simon Woodley, commented on the teams’ successes:

“Both teams had worked hard to reach the finals, facing difficult opponents throughout the knockout stages. Although both teams came into the finals as underdogs, there was a confidence in both camps that they could cause an upset. Both teams on the day were phenomenal, they showed desire, belief and hunger to go out and compete. It was a fantastic day for all involved and a great memory for all students who were able to celebrate together. We are all grateful for our teams’ commitment and hard work throughout the season.”

Here is the 2nd Team’s  winning penalty:


Below is the squad list for each cup-winning team:

2nd Team

Aaron Smith
Toby Budd
Will Hammerton
George Chandler
Harry Yeadon
Joe Hughes
Will Erdinc
Nathan Bickle
Rudy Owens
Alfie Wallis
Aaron Kerby
George Smith
Nehal Mehta
Callum Esfandiari
Olly Complin
Tom Bushnell

3rd Team

Luke Porcher
Harry Reed
James Thurston
James Walton
Liam Biggs
Harry Fay
Jack Bignell
Joseph Chambers
Ross Butler
Ollie Shapland
Alex Lake
Sam May
Luke Perry
Joshua Robins
Cameron Vincent

One Comment “Barton Peveril’s Footballing Champions”

  • Mark smith


    Watched the lads in the Peter munro cup final and they were superb against a very physical and organised Farnborough team, was a pleasure to have been there.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use this webite, you agree to our use of cookies. More Information